In Nichori can be a Holy Spring generally known as Panagia of the Stable (Panagia tis Fatni). It was as soon as a secure of a Turkish proprietor. Inside was discovered an previous Icon of the Virgin Mary and believers got here for pilgrimage to the place whereas on the identical time the home animals remained inside it. The inhabitants of Nichori gave the identify: Panagia Achouriotissa, because the phrase “achouri” is of Turkish origin from the phrase “ahir”, which implies “secure”.
Entering its inside, you descend a number of steps to the inside of the chapel. A humble, modest and heartfelt house.
The spring has no water, and though it’s positioned within the class of the Holy Springs of the City, it’s basically a chapel. Over the years, the positioning was granted to the Roman group, sustaining its unique identify but additionally its humility. The most vital renovation of the positioning was carried out in 1950 through the Patriarchate of Athenagoras on the expense of the locals. Patriarch Athenagoras was the one who proposed the extra ornate and chic identify change to Panagia of the Stable as an alternative of “Achouriotissa”.