14th Annual African American Film Critics Association Awards Recipients Revealed | Festivals & Awards

Other winners embrace: Best Supporting Actor Brian Tyree Henry (“Causeway”), Emerging Filmmaker Carey William(“Emergency”), Best Independent Feature (“Nanny”), Best Animated Feature (“Wendell & Wild”), Best Documentary (“Sidney”) and Best International Feature (“Saint Omer”). Best Live Action Short went to Kendrick Lamar’s “We Cry Together” and Best Animated Short went to Colman and Raul Domingo’s “New Moon.” 

AAFCA additionally introduced honorees for a number of particular achievement awards together with “Till” for the Impact Award, composer Michael Abels (“Nope”) for the Innovator Award – offered by Nissan, manufacturing designer Hannah Beachler (“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”) for the Building Change Award offered by Lowes, Antoine Fuqua and Will Smith (“Emancipation”) for the Beacon Award and producer Nate Moore (“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”) for the Ashley Boone Award.  

Said Robertson, “These thought-provoking tales of energy, dedication and braveness raise us and entertain us. It’s an honor to acknowledge the unimaginable, visionary work each in entrance of and behind the digicam of this 12 months’s AAFCA Award winners.” Winners are voted on by AAFCA’s 100+ members. The group, which is celebrating its twentieth anniversary in 2023 can be saying further particular occasions and programming within the coming months. Continues Robertson, “AAFCA was established in 2003 and is the premiere physique of Black movie critics on the earth, actively reviewing movie and tv, with a selected emphasis on leisure that features the Black expertise and storytellers from the African Diaspora.” 

Here is the whole listing of this 12 months’s AAFCA Award recipients…

Best Picture: “The Woman King”
Best Director: Gina Prince-Bythewood (“The Woman King”)
Best Actor: Jeremy Pope (“The Inspection”)
Best Actress: Danielle Deadwyler (“Till”)
Best Supporting Actor: Brian Tyree Henry (“Causeway”)
Best Supporting Actress: Angela Bassett (“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”)
Emerging Face: Jaylin Hall (“Till” & “Bruiser”)
Emerging Filmmaker: Carey Williams (“Emergency”)
Best Independent Feature: “Nanny”
Best Animated Feature: “Wendell & Wild”
Best Documentary: “Sidney”
Best Ensemble: “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”
Best Writing: Rian Johnson (“Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”)
Best International Feature: “Saint Omer”
Best Song: “Lift Me Up” (“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”)
Best Live Action Short: “We Cry Together”
Best Animated Short: “New Moon”

Impact Award: “Till”
The Innovator Award, offered by Nissan: Composer, Michael Abels (“Nope”)
Building Change Award, offered by Lowes: Production Designer, Hannah Beachler (“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”)
The Beacon Award: Antoine Fuqua and Will Smith (“Emancipation”)
The Ashley Boone Award: Producer, Nate Moore (“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”)

For extra data on AAFCA and its applications go to



Express your views here

Disqus Shortname not set. Please check settings

Bilateral: Uzbekistan-India relations historical past

What is mortgage insurance coverage?